TARC and Kentucky Science Center announce winners of the 24th annual Design-a-Bus

April 29, 2024

Louisville, Ky. (April 25, 2024)—TARC, in partnership with the Kentucky Science Center, are excited to announce the 12 student winners of the 24th annual Design-a-Bus contest, “The Periodic Elements of Louisville.” 

The 12 winners will have their artwork displayed on a TARC bus that will operate throughout Greater Louisville for the next year. As part of TARC’s 50th anniversary, the bus celebrates 50 places that TARC helps connect you to, as well as sci-fi imagery inspired by the 50th anniversary of Mariner 10’s exploration of the planet Mercury. 

The bus will debut in the Zoeller Pump Company Pegasus Parade, on Sunday, April 28.

“We enjoyed partnering with TARC on this project. We intentionally include art in our Do Science approach to our STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Mathematics) programs and experiences because art gives people the freedom to harness the capabilities of the other STEAM subjects. And we are always happy to support our Louisville Metro partners like TARC who are providing access to our Kentucky Science Center to more and more community members each day,” said Mike Norman, Chief Executive Officer of Kentucky Science Center.

Team members from both TARC and the Kentucky Science Center voted on over 60 illustrations submitted by students from kindergarten to high school seniors from schools throughout Greater Louisville. 

“We’re excited to begin our celebration of TARC’s 50th anniversary with this year’s Design-a-Bus,” said Ozzy Gibson, Interim Executive Director of TARC. “We are so inspired by the creativity of the students’ depictions of some of their favorite places in Greater Louisville that we help connect you to. It has been a pleasure to partner with Kentucky Science Center to support our mutual goal of helping students access a quality STEAM education.”

The twelve winners are:

Adrian C –       Johnson Traditional Middle School
Autumn P –     Conway Middle School
Caroline B –    North Oldham High School
Caroline C –    Noe Middle School
Danie P S –     Laukhuf Elementary 
Erica W –        duPont Manual High School
Franklina E –   Wilder Elementary
Isaac M –        McKemy Academy
Isebella Y –     Fairdale Elementary 
Ivy W –            Wilder Elementary 
Lilith H-T –      Wilt Elementary
Trinity C –        Lauhkuf Elementary